Next stop: Freelance Whales – Weathervanes

Freelance Whales I originally wrote this review after listening to this album for the first time, and while reading it over I was worried I was singing praise to much. After about a week of continual listening to ‘Weathervanes’ I’ve decided that my initial reaction was correct. Neon Gold said it best..

Freelance Whales are like Arcade Fire for your little sister, only your little sister is in college now and she’s actually pretty cool and has tons of hot friends.

You know the feeling you get when you have a great day, and you just wish it could last a little bit longer? That’s exactly how I feel about this LP, leaves you wanting more. For the most part I don’t really pay a lot of attention to the lyrics of songs at first listen, but this ‘Weathervanes’ had me actually listen to the words being sung along with the many layers of sounds coming out. Freelance whales give us songs with prominent drum beats, with an almost child like feel; sounds of toys and chimes. To me they sound like a combination of Death Cab and Arcade Fire, and surprisingly I don’t think that is a bad thing what so ever. Oddly enough, there are a few electro-inspired songs, which caught my completely off guard but I loved them never-the-less. I do believe that great music has countless interpretations, so I’m having a hard time describing the specifics of the tracks on this album, I think everyone is going to get something completely different out of it. The most compelling tracks for me are Generator ^ First Floor and Generator ^ Second Floor, which are below for your listening pleasure.

Generator ^ First Floor
https://www.opendrive.com/files?5830821_dapRa

Generator ^ Second Floor
https://www.opendrive.com/files?5830822_Navw9

Let me know if I’m completely off base on this album, but I do think it is something spectacular that most people would probably find enjoyment in.

Comments are closed.

